And They Were Boobs…

Started from The Bottom…
Now We’re Here…
           I can’t but reminisce about those pleasurable days of 2002. I was barely in primary two. A dark, young little girl of five I was. Physical training was the best of school in those days. I could run, jump, dance, shake, twist, twirl, bend and do all sorts with ease. I wore T- shirts and dresses with comfort without having to check how they looked; they were more or less like two blackheads on my chest. As an ignorant little girl, not much significance was attached to them. Physical training was a blessing and was very much anticipated by the primary one class of St Mary’s Nursery and Primary School. I did training with my pants on- boys and girls…it was a moment to die for.
                And then came one beautiful morning of June, 2008. I had woken up that fateful day to take my bath. As usual, after wasting 45 minutes thereabout in the bathroom, I had come to admire myself. I had noticed my blackheads were taking shape…an odd looking shape and then I was like
What..are…th..tho.those?!

 Again, as a little girl, I refused to attach much significance to them. My friends had come to show off their bra tops in the junior girl toilets minutes before physical training that day. Bra tops of different design and colors’. I must say…I was wowed. That very week, I also got new bra tops just like my friends. I remember vividly my pink ‘‘Sweet Sixteen” and purple “Bratz” bra tops…Lol…my very first set of female protection I called it.

                Few months before my Junior School Certificate Exams….I began to study them. They kept taking form and getting denser and most especially drew a lot of attention. Then I realized… my bra tops couldn’t do the trick anymore! That moment was like a horror movie!  I knew I wasn’t alone. The female friends I had too had similar issues. I don’t know how it happened, but I found myself wearing a bra as soon as my JSC exams kicked off. Physical training day became my worst day of the week; a day to dread. I couldn’t stand the crowd, the giggles, and the mischievous gestures I usually got. I mean…my blackheads grew a little too fast!
                As the -ember months of 2010 came…they became boobs…

I was sort of pleased. Those dreadful feelings of physical training had gone. The awkward gestures I got had stopped. My friends had changed…I guess they grew brains or mother nature dealt with them; whichever way I was proud of the young lady I was becoming. I embraced every change that took place within me.  Through the mixed feelings that set in ….most I was able to overcome, I realized that the young girl of yesterday was beginning to grow up.  Till today, she is still growing…
About nafisah

I'm an architecture student by day and natural hair blogger by night. Join me as I share with you the ups and downs of being an student natural living in Lagos.
This entry was posted in Life Talks. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And They Were Boobs…

  1. Patrick Tee says:

    Wow! This was pretty insightful. It reminds me of my junior days in school, I dnt use to fancy my mates cos most of them had wat we(boys) call peanuts … Lol . And then , all of a sudden after the long JS hols , the girls came back as ladies with mouth watery jiggles(boobs)

    Like

  2. Patrick Tee says:

    This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    Like

What do you think?

