When Post High-school Life Meets Going Natural

                          It feels so great to be out of high school and all other things related. Like the popular holiday school song goes “no more morning bells, no more teachers’ cane”. Talking about being out of high school, succeeding days and weeks after my graduation have been awesome. My stress level has gone down. No more writing of certificate exams (At least, for now) which has given me more room for attention on my transitioning hair and probably a long break from blogging (Sorry, but trust me, that break was needed)

                Just exactly after 4 months of transitioning, I finally summed up all courage to cut my relaxed hair. My initial plan was to transition for 6 months but then, I couldn’t take it anymore. I felt too anxious to see my fro popping. To cut things short, I cut off all my relaxed hair on a Friday night, the 9th of August. That was just after taking off the weave worn for my graduation. I kept disturbing my sister telling her to come cut it off. I was feeling so happy yet I was nervous. This is going to be my first time of having hair so short. So she wet some hair in front and she snipped. The smile was still on my face, she went for a second snip and I was like “Hold it! Why don’t we start from the back?” So she started from the back way up to the front. That was when I started accepting the reality of losing so much hair I had struggled to keep for so long for the love of healthy natural hair. And when she was done, I knew I had made the right decision. I was happy inside out. My new look seemed totally strange but hey! I loved it! After all the wetting and cutting, I went into the bathroom to give my new hair a nice wash…And here I am…newly natural.
Moments before and after the big chop
                Okay Okay. So fast forward to today, night of Tuesday the 27th of August. I am still rocking my TWA. It feels so great. I am loving the texture and the new look. No more trimonthly relaxer touch ups. Talking about style, I generally just rock wash and gos or my mini Afro puff stylized with a headband. I would probably gain a couple of inches more before I try out other various styles. A major Do for my hair would be to always moisturize with water and coconut oil mixture and seal with castor, olive and coconut oil and the major don’t would be not to comb dry.
                So, that’s it guys. I would be keeping you up to date with my natural hair journey. Until next time. STAY BLESSED!
Facebook: Nafisah Olayemi
Twitter: @__Nafisah__
Instagram ID: __Nafisah__
About nafisah

I'm an architecture student by day and natural hair blogger by night. Join me as I share with you the ups and downs of being an student natural living in Lagos.
This entry was posted in Transitioning Hair, TWA. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When Post High-school Life Meets Going Natural

  1. Beeba K says:

    Congrats on your graduation and the big chop. Thanks for visiting my blog.
    Happy hair growing x

    Like

  2. Pingback: My August 2015 Length Check. | COILY HEAD OF HAIR

What do you think?

