HAIR UPDATE: April to June

Hello world!!  It really does feel good to be back into the blogging scene. it’s been roughly two weeks now of waking up to a stress-free day, without having to think about brainstorming or completing a major project. Anyway, this post is solely going to be on an update from April to June!

To be honest, as of the beginning of 2014, I didn’t have a length retention regimen until now. I have never planned the course of my protective styling ever before. So most of the time I’m wearing twist outs and Bantu knot outs.

Through out the month of April, I have been wearing twist-outs and Bantu knot-outs. Here’s just a simple picture; I wash and conditioner and put my hair in medium-sized twists on a Sunday. I wear the twists for about 2 or 3 days and wear it out through the rest of the week. I Bantu-knot my hair the following Sunday on stretched hair and wear them out through out the week. I always maintain it by putting it into about 6 to 8  mini pineapples. I moisturize and re-knot about twice before the next wash day.

Stretched twists

Stretched twists

 

Bantu knots

Bantu knots

In the month of May, I wore more of afro puffs and my stretched fro. I maintain the stretched hair chunky twisting or braiding every night. My bi-weekly wash regimen was still intact.

Night- time Fro stretch routine

Night- time Fro stretch routine

I decided to install box braids in June to give my self a break from daily manipulation and besides I was getting REALLY bored with my hair. I had a blow- out using the tension method; that saved my energy and time as I didn’t feel the need to run a comb through my hair during the process until i was done blowing my hair. I prepped by washing, deep conditioning and braiding moisturized hair then blew out in sections.  Throughout the month of June, I maintained them by moisturizing and sealing 2/3 times a week. I’m not a big fan of heavy-styling hair so the braid s were always in a low bun or packed all the way to the nape area.

Protective Style : box braids

Protective Style : box braids

I have been wearing the braid for about 5 weeks before taking them down in the first week of July. It’s a shame I have very little pictures to show for..smh..all thanks to my hectic and busy schedule! Read a continued post in my July Update.

About nafisah

I'm an architecture student by day and natural hair blogger by night. Join me as I share with you the ups and downs of being an student natural living in Lagos.
This entry was posted in Hair Updates, Protective styling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

