My Late 2014 Hair Resolution.

Hair_Resolution1) Improve my relationship with the scarf:

There are some days when I am just too tried to put on the satin scarf before hitting my pillows and there are some days when I just can’t find them and there some days when they are just too dirty to survive one more night on my hair. Enough said.

2) Take better care of my nape hair:

My nape hair is very thin and is the least dense part of my hair. This causes it to break very easily during de-tangling sessions.

3) Trim more frequently:

I trim my hair twice a year, now  would be opting to trim it three times a year irrespective of its state. My ends are awfully due for a nice trim. It’s very sad.

4) Wear protective styles more often: As much I hate wearing long term protective styles, I’m also getting bored of wearing my hair out and besides they aren’t retaining so much. I’m definitely going to up my protective-styling game.

 

5) Stay away from Afro puffs:

I love wearing afro puffs…a lot..especially the high and stretched-out puffs. That’s my formal mode of identification in Unilag…lol. If I get lost in a crowd, all you need do is to spot a head of high puff with laid edges! Apparently, the puffs are causing me to  pick and brush my hair the comb too frequently. They also cause me to band my hair and these bands have been causing some breakage lately.

6) Putting the comb away:

I have been finger de-tangling for a while now; since February. I also use the wide-tooth comb after every de-tangling section to give a smoother and more stretched look. But now, I want to keep the comb away  and see if my hair can benefit from a comb-free regimen.

 Until next time!

 

 

 

About nafisah

I'm an architecture student by day and natural hair blogger by night. Join me as I share with you the ups and downs of being an student natural living in Lagos.
This entry was posted in Hair Challenges, Protective styling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Late 2014 Hair Resolution.

  1. Tangela says:

    Reblogged this on Too Kinky 4 U? and commented:
    OMG! This is so amazing! I identify with all of your resolutions! I’ve been natural for almost a year now, and I’ve been starting to wonder what it is I want for the future of my hair…hair that is a statement or hair that is healthy?

    Like

    • nafisah says:

      Thanks Tangela. I’m glad you could relate to these. Yeah, there comes a time when you just ponder where you want to go next with you hair journey. The magic doesn’t all happen in one night; It all start with a single step. I hope I would have a good story to tell about my resolutions in 2015. *fingers crossed* 🙂

      Like

  2. The afro-puff was my signature style till last year!
    I did suffer a lot of breakage because of it, though. The picking, combing and detangling – not fun. Surprised I still have hair on my head. Haha! 🙂

    Those are good resolutions. I had to learn to do those last year and the year before that I think the scarf one was the hardest ’cause when I woke up without a scarf on I always condemned myself.

    Like

What do you think?

