Product Review: Natural Nigerian Moisture & Shine Detangling Leave-in Conditioner

fotor_WP_20150111_016Affordability:
N2500 for an 8oz leave in conditioner. Though I was gifted this product, I must say, it’s a bit too pricey for an 8oz leave in but taking a look at the lovable ingredients, you might want to give it a shot.

First 6 Ingredients:
Aloe Barbadensis Leaf extract: Acts as a natural conditioning agent that restores hair’s sheen and lustre.
Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride: A liquid derived from coccnut oil considered as an great emollient and reduces moisture loss die to its fatty contents,
Cocos Nucifera (coconut oil): a great oil that reinforce the hair fibre, making it stronger.
Glycerin: A great humectant that draws in moisture into the hair.
Hydrogenated ethylhexyl olivate: Another good emollient and conditioning agent
Behentrimonium methosulfate: Mild conditioning and detangling agentfotor_(39)

Product description:

NOURISHES, FORTIFIES AND MOISTURIZES

NN Moisture and Shine Detangling Leave In Conditioner is a light weight, ph balanced conditioner which can be used to detangle as well as improve the general manageability of your hair, it contains plant derived active ingredients. It contains high performance moisturizers which nourish your hair, protects it from heat and even helps it retain a vibrant colour.

First Impressions:

A milky looking product that comes in a see -through bottle with a ‘press to open’ mechanism’

It has a sweet citrusy smell I sometimes don’t like perceiving. I personally don’t like the smell of oranges. -____-

It has a light cream colour with a slightly runny consistency similar to that of evaporated milk. fotor_(40)

It takes a while to get absorbed into my strands; not too long though. After sime time the whites disappear.

Pros:
Yummy, natural-hair friendly ingredients
Very moisturizing
A little goes a long way
No mineral oil, No parabens, No silicones.
Mixes well with most products
I love the product the design ( the way the greens stand out on the see-through bottle)

WP_20141019_045

Cons
A very light consistency which I personally do not fancy
Messy mode of application.
The ‘citrusy’ smell makes me keep away. I was on and off while using it
Pricey
Takes a while to get fully absorbed
Does nothing to detangle my hair

I love the fact that a little of this product does the job pretty well for me. I adore the simple green design on the bottle…a lot. In terms of moisture, protection and shine, this product does what it says but I just cant over look the fact that I don’t like the smell and the liquid-like consistency makes it a bit annoying and difficult trying to get liquid on the palms into my hair without some drops trickling down my lower arms. Maybe if it came in a spray bottle and renamed a moisturizing hair milk. I could give it another shot. I gave out the last quarter of it to my sister, I hope she likes it.

Final Verdict:
All in all, it’s a good product that’s is worth trying out. It’s just not the right product for me. Due to my personal preferences on smell and mode of application, I won’t be buying this in the future but I would recommend it to anyone who is in need of a good leave in that wouldn’t mind tearing the pocket for it.

About nafisah

I'm an architecture student by day and natural hair blogger by night. Join me as I share with you the ups and downs of being an student natural living in Lagos.
This entry was posted in product review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Product Review: Natural Nigerian Moisture & Shine Detangling Leave-in Conditioner

  1. Jen says:

    I’ve been wanting to try this but the price! Also, I think I prefer thicker moisturizers to liquidy ones

    Like

  2. nafisah says:

    Yes, I just don’t like the fact that its slightly runny. it can be annoying.

    Like

What do you think?

