Trader’s Joe Nourish Spa Conditioner : The Review

Hey world!!!

So this post is a review of Trader’s Joe Nourish Spa Conditioner. I have been deliberately”eyeing” this products for a long time.lol.. Its is like a striked-out number one on my 2015 wishlist. I was reading reviews on Naturallycurly.com sometime in 2014, I came across this conditioner, read the amazzzzzing reviews and I was like, I have to get this!  It had tons of positive reviews so much that there was hardly any bad thing to say about this conditioner.

WP_20150228_019

Product Description:

  • Balanced Moisturizing
  • Safe for Colour treated Hair
  • Contains Argan Oil to Smooth and Shine
  • Enriched with Botanicals

When your hair is dry and to need to be nourished. This balanced hair re-moisturizer is ideal for replenishing dry and brittle hair. Perfect for use daily. It infuses moisture and exceptional shine without weighing hair down. Enhanced with botanicals. It doesn’t contain laurel/laureth sulphates.

Top Ingredients:

Purified Water: The Ultimate Moisturizer

Cetyl Alcohol:  During conditioning, cetyl alcohol is responsible for allowing conditioner to spread easily over the hair.

Behetrimonium chloride: Conditions, detangles, fights static, softens, restores, and rebuilds damaged hair. Since it’s plant-based and not petrochemical-based, it doesn’t coat but penetrates the hair shaft for potent conditioning effects. (In some applications, it also acts as a preservative).

Citric Acid:  Citric acid is used to adjust the pH down to 5.5 (ish). It is a fairly weak acid which makes the adjustment easier. it also has a small amount of preservative action. Citric acid as opposed to any other acid will prevent bacterial growth.

Tocopherol (vitamin e): natural form of vitamin E, a natural skin-conditioning agent and antioxidant.

Dimethicone:   A silicone oil which

1)It adsorbs (sticks on) on to the outer cuticle of hair.
2. It forms a film on the hair which smoothes down the cuticle
3. It lubricates the hair and is thought to contribute to easier wet combing (i.e less friction).

Argan oil: A natural oil which contains a lot of natural anti-oxidants that will help strengthen the weakened hair strands.

WP_20150228_025

Price:

A 16.9 fl oz/ 500 ml bottle sells for N1500 at Olori.com.ng

First Impressions:

It comes in an almost opaque white bottle with a ‘press’ open-mechanism

It has a white color with a thick consistency similar to that of Aveeno Naturals daily moisturizing lotion. One of the pictures below shows its consistency as compared to that of Vo5 strengthening conditioner.

It has a mild, fresh scent like of regular bath soap/conditioner. (Which I’m not crazy about)

WP_20150228_032_2 WP_20150228_031

My experience:

One thing I love about this product is its slip. This conditioner is the definition of slip. I have never felt so much slip in my hair before.

It made detangling a lot easier for me.

It was my second time using it. I can tell how it made my hair so moisturized in every use and just a small amount detangles my hair really well as compared to Vo5 conditioner. There’s really nothing so special about the smell like I said earlier. I also loved the fact that is thick but spreads so easily on my hair. The only thing that bothers was the fact that it tends to lather a lot if I use too much.

WP_20150228_044

Pros:

Amazing Slip

Very Moisturizing

A little amount of it goes along way

Thick consistency

Spread so easily

Organic Ingredients

Budget-Friendly

Simple and lovely packaging

Cons:

Fragrance can be better.

All in all, nothing is going to come between me and this conditioner. No even the smell…lol. I so love this conditioner. Though I’m more of a leave in and deep conditioner kind of girl. I do see myself using more of this in the future. I’m not a co wash girl anymore, and I don’t use rinse-outs after shampooing, but I would definitely in cooperate this into my regimen, maybe for wash and gos and probably for giving my dc some slip for easier detangling. I think every natural should get her hands on this conditioner.

                                                              If you are looking for slip and moisture with a quite affordable price, this is for you.

 

Please Watch this space for my review of Karen’s Body Beautiful Sweet Ambrosia Leave In Conditioner (mouthful, huh?)

Until Next Time,

Nafisat.

About nafisah

I'm an architecture student by day and natural hair blogger by night. Join me as I share with you the ups and downs of being an student natural living in Lagos.
This entry was posted in product review, shortnaturalhair, Wash Day Memoirs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Trader’s Joe Nourish Spa Conditioner : The Review

  1. sewloveable says:

    This is my go to conditioner. I use to co-wash, deep condition an as a leave in. This conditioner is great for my wash n go’s. It work’s well with eco styler gel’s.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. nafisah says:

    As a leave in? Doesn’t it cause build ups quickly?

    Like

  3. Pingback: Latest Buys. | The Kinky-Coily Blog of A Nigerian Natural.

  4. Pingback: Product Review: Trader Joe’s Nourish Spa Conditioner. | Bookie Kunlere

What do you think?

