Product Review: V05 Herbal Escapes Strengthening Conditioner.

Hello world!

Just as promised, I’ll be making reviews of some buys from February. So I’m starting today with V05 Herbal Escapes Strengthening Conditioner. Quite popular in the natural hair community but never have I tried it before until last month. So let me give you the full low down of this cheapay cheapay conditioner.

WP_20150228_006 WP_20150404_21_12_11_Selfie

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION:

Herbal Escapes Pomegranate & Grape seed Extract STRENGTHENING CONDITIONER

Experience the health and vitality of natural herbal extracts in this formula for beautiful hair.

  • Bask in the juicy fragrance of ripe pomegranate
  • Moisturizing formula with anti-oxidants helps to revitalize heat-styled or sun damaged hair.
  • Keeps color treated hair looking great

TOP 6 INGRIENDIENTS:

Water: The ultimate moisturizer

Cety Alcohol: An emulsifier (i.e the things that help oil and water to mix). Cetyl alcohol is also responsible for allowing conditioner to spread easily over the hair.

Stearalkonium Chloride: It helps to reduce static electricity by neutralizing electrical charges on hair. It’s a great conditioning agent.

Centrimonium Chloride: Same as Stearalkonium Chloride

Fragrance: (Only God knows the exact chemicals used)

Glyceryl Stearate : Used for its conditioning properties. It’s a light weight conditioning ingredient that gives a dry, smooth feel when rubbed in.

DMDM Hydantoin: It actually works as a preservative by releasing formaldehyde. ( Form-Wah? I know what you all are thinking, But, really bad guy ingredients like these are inevitable)

WP_20150228_017

PRICE/SIZE

This 15fl oz bottle costs N330. This is the cheapest I have seen this product. It ranges anywhere from N330 to N750. I got this at YemYem Supermarket, University of Lagos Main Campus, Akoka.

FIRST IMPRESSIONS:

It comes in a slightly-opaque, ‘open- cap’ squeeze bottle
It has light pink color with a slightly runny consistency like that of evaporated milk

It has this lovely and sweet ‘pomegranate- scented’ fragrance similar to that of Karen’s Body Beautiful Pomegranate Leave In (I really don’t know what pomegranate smells like but when I smelled this, the scent was similar to that of Karen’s Body Beautiful Pomegranate Leave in, So I just concluded it smelled like pomegranate 🙂

WP_20150228_035 WP_20150228_031_2

MY EXPERIENCE:

Hmmn let’s see. First of all, I looove the smell of this product. It has this sweet lovable scent that I can’t get enough of….lol…( I should really get my hands on some pomegranates) I hope this won’t over power my judgment. That aside, the ingredient list didn’t do any justice to this conditioner at all. So many hard-to-pronounce and ‘eyebrow-raising’ names. There wasn’t much so special about this conditioner.

                        I like it. That’s it.

I like because it detangles fairly well and it is very moisturizing for something that it is worth just N330 but the only comma about this conditioner is that you might run out of this conditioner in just one wash if you are the heavy handed type.

 I had conquered only half of my hair with this conditioner and this is what I had left and it was just my first wash!!

WP_20150228_010

I recently conducted an experiment with this and Trader’s joe nourish spa conditioner. There wasn’t really difference between them. Trader’ joe is much thicker and slipperier than Vo5 but I loved the fact that this defines my curls slightly better than Trader’s joe as well. It gets my curls popping!

WP_20150404_21_11_43_Selfie

On my second trial of this product without my Dudu Osun Black Soap, I noticed it cleansed my hair pretty well is still able to moisturize it; I also noticed this conditioner gives my curls high definition. Even my hard to define crown area was defined. I was impressed. These selfies might not do much justice but trust me, it defines those curls!

PROS:

Great smell (Yum!)

Very Moisturizing

Has Good slip

Defines my curls really well

Great for Cowashing

CONS:

It runs out quickly (Lasted only 3 washes)

Light consistency

Lacks oils

Contains many chemicals

FINAL VERDICT:

In summary, It’s a good conditioner. In its detangling game, which is the most important criterion for a good rinse-out conditioner, it performed quite well but many of my ‘cheapay cheapay’ conditioners have performed better than this. I just wished  it had more oils and was a bit thicker and less chemicals because it still ponders me how something like this turned out to be very moisturizing for me. All in all, this conditioner performed quite well. I’m not so big on rinse out conditioners but I would be using this again. ( Mainly for my wash and go’s because I get a lot of curl definition from this)

 

If you have tried this before, let me know how it went for you as well.

Until next time,

Nafisat

About nafisah

I'm an architecture student by day and natural hair blogger by night. Join me as I share with you the ups and downs of being an student natural living in Lagos.
This entry was posted in Hair Updates, product review, shortnaturalhair, Wash Day Memoirs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Product Review: V05 Herbal Escapes Strengthening Conditioner.

  1. Jen says:

    I’ve used so many bottles of v05 that I will soon buy shares in the company!
    It’s cheap yet effective.
    I thought I was too heavy handed because it runs out quickly but I’m glad to see it isn’t just me.
    When it starts getting to quarter/half, I add water,ACV and any other conditioner around, give it a good shake and I have a full bottle of conditioner again(I should do a post about this cheap trick on my blog).

    Liked by 2 people

  2. naturalrify says:

    I have this product. Infact i used it as a rinse out after my protein treatment, it really defines curls. Am a product junkie so i just buy more products and uses anyone i set eyes on 1st. Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This product! I had a Research onit some months ago and i saw alot of bad stuffs about it. Says it causes cancer and birth defects cus of the harsh chemicals init like PG, PEG etc, and also it was ban in some countries 😥😢

    Like

What do you think?

