THE BOON BOX MONTHLY SUBCRIPTION by The Beauty Boon: My Experience!

 

DSC02110ABOUT BEAUTY BOON


TheBeautyBoon.com is an online beauty supply store that offers efficient and personalized online shopping experience. They provide access to your day-to-day beauty essentials in the comfort of your home, office or on the go. They deliver to all states in Nigeria and they offer free shipping to certain regions in the country. They also ship to any international destination. Their product range includes Makeup, Bath and Body products, Skin Care products, Hair Care products, Men’s Grooming, Organic/Natural hair and skin products, Personal Care products and Fragrance for men, women and for the home.

 

HOW IT WORKS.

‘’You can choose one of their two subscription options. N5000 (monthly) or N19000 (quarterly).Feel free to choose whichever suits your pocket.

 

To get started, you will have to log on to the beauty boon site and fill out a little questionnaire/beauty profile which is intended to feed them info on your likes and generally get to know what your beauty wants/ needs are. Now this questionnaire is very in depth’’ – as written on dazzlebeautie.blogspot.com

 

 

MY EXPERIENCE:

DSC02109

Okay. So, I opted for the monthly subscription last week and went to pick it up yesterday due to my busy school life. Fast forward to  3 hours later, I was home. And immediately settling down, I opened my box!

DSC02113

The first thing that caught my attention was the smell of the box, lol…I thought is smelled heavenly! And secondly, the Shea Moisture label. I was like okay…lol…So I brought out the products one by one.  Total products received are 8. I personally think that is impressive. The most number of products received I personally counted from other blog was probably 7. I was really excited to see a few products and also disappointed to see some. Now allow me brief you on my satisfaction with each product starting from my highlight to my lowlight.

Products In the box:

  • Shea Moisture Restorative Conditioner 3.2 fl oz
  • Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash 1 fl oz
  • St Ives Apricot Scrub 1 oz
  • MAKE UP FOREVER Lab Shine Lip Gloss
  • Shea Moisture Retention Shampoo 3.2 fl oz
  • Dove Advanced Care Deodorant Stick 0.5 fl oz
  • Scope Classic Mouthwash 1.49 fl oz
  • GOLD Energizing Conditioner 10ml
  • DSC02125

I was excited to see the Shea Moisture conditioner. I’m a conditioner girl..lool..you can’t blame me.

I was also happy to the Neutrogena face wash and St Ivies face scrub because I highlighted my oily and acne-prone face issues to them but was disappointed I got a scrub from St Ives brand because  a 4.5oz St Ivies face scrub costs N350 to N500 at most super markets.

I was fairly pleased to see the lip gloss in the box because I remember mentioning that I was a not a heavy makeup lover plus I mentioned that I would love a ‘’lipstick’’ in my box.

I specifically noted that I didn’t want to see a shampoo in my box…lol.yeah I did! But look what I found! A cute innocent-looking 3.5 fl oz bottle of Shea Moisture Retention Shampoo.

I was also surprised and disappointed to see things like deodorant stick and mouth wash in box. I don’t recall mentioning anything about my oral and body hygiene. I have twice the size of these things already that only cost me N500 each at my local supermarket. (Team Cheapskate.loool.)

Lastly, Gold energizing conditioner.  It is clearly stated at back label,’’ NOT FOR SALE’’ So, this left me wondering, since when is it considered normal to pay for free items. I mean if they just wanted to add ‘jara’ , they just have sent a nicely written note to indicate the jara(s) in the box.

DSC02130

PROS:

A very good method of trying out new products.

Wide variety of products.

Good quality products.

Attractive product packaging.

 

CONS:

A bit pricey for 5 to 7 sample-sized products.

Poor attention to customer’s request and satisfaction (as far as I’m concerned)

No information about ‘’the selection’’ of specified products.

SUMMARY:
I thought generally, for products worth N5000 (25USD), they could have done better like probably added more products because these things are supposed to be samples. It’s hard to bear paying that much for about 7 products of those sizes..(sigh) I could have gotten about half the number of products in the box in bigger sizes for less than N2500. And also, the box could have come with a short written note about how the products were selected and how it would benefit the customer and also they should have stated the ‘’jaras’’/bonuses/ free products that have been added, if any.

WOULD I BUY THIS AGAIN?

My answer would be no.

I like the concept of the whole boon box thing. I baaddly wanted to love all of my products but I just couldn’t. The fact that I specifically mentioned that I didn’t want a shampoo in my box and actually got one was really disappointing. I hope an official of The Beauty Boon gets to read this and pass along the message.  But I am really glad I tried this and I do not regret trying it at all. It is a refreshing experience to have tried something like this! It never hurts to try something new every once in a while.

Adios!

Oh and by the way, For those of you expecting the installation post of my crochet braids, I’m so terribly sorry. I lost some of my blog post pictures due to storage issues…(Gosh! I feel like crying)… Bear with me. But Nonetheless, We’ll work something out.. I always do. 🙂

Until Next Time!

Nafisah

About nafisah

I'm an architecture student by day and natural hair blogger by night. Join me as I share with you the ups and downs of being an student natural living in Lagos.
This entry was posted in first impressions, Hauls and Buys, product review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to THE BOON BOX MONTHLY SUBCRIPTION by The Beauty Boon: My Experience!

  1. Jen says:

    I would not have found it funny if I had received a deodorant stick and mouth wash oh! Why evils?!
    On the plus side, you got a really good conditioner and face wash(although it can be quite drying)
    I also could have sworn that I mentioned that I didn’t like lip gloss in my own questionnaire but I received lip gloss in my box.
    I think the BoonBox is such a good idea; they just need to work out all the kinks and make it better.

    Nigerian and Natural

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was going to try this but after reading your review, I’m not too sure anymore, the inclusion of that deodorant and mouth wash is just funny.

    Like

  3. Bookie says:

    Lol the mouthwash part is too funny, my God.
    I will still try the BoonBox someday, not anytime soon though, if I’m displeased they are just a phone call away.
    I pray I don’t get lip gloss in mine sha.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve been seeing this boon box thing around and everyone almost always has neutrogena wash and st ives scrub in their box. Safe to say Nigerian girls and acne have a close relationship, no? Lool

    I doubt I’ll try it sha and great review!

    http://www.cassiedaves.com

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

