Crochet Braids with NOBLE GOLD KINKY BULK HAIR : The Installation Results.

Hello my lovely readers from whichever part of the world you are right now.

First and foremost forgive my attitude towards updating you all on the hair. Well here it is.

Enjoy!

DSC01973

Hair used: NOBLE GOLD KINKY BULK HAIR

No of Packs used: Almost 2 packs.

Tools used: My trusty Bobby Pin, Wide tooth Comb

Products used: water and KBB Sweet Ambrosia leave in (incoming review) mixed in a spray bottle.

Installation duration: Roughly  3 hours

Braid pattern: Two stepped cornrows (Thanks to my close friend, Oyin, I can’t cornrow firmly) I asked her to make the first step in small cornrows). This helps form the great base for the knotless technique.

DSC01867

Worth Noting:

I got 2 packs of this hair. One pack was full color 1 and the other pack was 1:4 mix of colour 1 and 33 so yeah, I gave me some highlights! Really subtle highlights though.

DSC01977

The style was inspired by tori (My Natural Sisters) crochet style with Cubian twist hair and also by some youtubers who uploaded tutorials of the invisible knotting technique.

vlcsnap-2015-04-08-21h33m52s750

The installation time was so lengthy due to the fact that I had to carefully install the front hair using knotless technique.

DSC01884

Knotless crochet??

Oh yes. Crochet braids that seem like they are growing right from your scalp.

If you are interested in how the knotless method is done, you are only a click away. Just visit YouTube and type in ”knotless crochect marley hair”. I’m not so sure I know how to explain it without much words. But it basically involves you inserting the crochet needle/bobby pin towards the parting and crocheting the hair in very small sections as close to the parting as possible . I hope that makes sense. coily head fo hair 2 years of gromwth

Post Installation

After installing the hair, I decided  have a shower and detangle the hair under running water. Then I proceeded to twist the hair.

DSC01993 Twist_collage

The hair really stretches out when combed out as seen in the picture above.

Its been two weeks since installation and the hair is fully stretched out to its real length now due to frequent combing.

I’m currently loving this hair alot. I’l be showing you the variations of styles I have worn with this hair soon. It’s been only two weeks but I’m missing my own hair already.It’s so sad to let you guys know that I can hardly keep protective styles on my head. I will wear the hair another 2 weeks (hopefully) then take it down. By the way, I keep getting compliments and ”Is this your hair” questions…

It’s really crazy how many Nigerians think it’s my hair. My close friends would have sworn my hair grew overnight!

Very very soon, I would be introducing to you all a new feature on the blog.

Trending on Campus!

Yes. This is going to be about hair trends on Unilag’s campus and my general views on it. I’m super duper excited for this one.

If you have any questions or want to chime in, Please feel free! 

Until next time!
Nafisah!

About nafisah

I'm an architecture student by day and natural hair blogger by night. Join me as I share with you the ups and downs of being an student natural living in Lagos.
This entry was posted in DIY, first impressions, product review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Crochet Braids with NOBLE GOLD KINKY BULK HAIR : The Installation Results.

  1. Jen says:

    I love your crochet braids!
    Did you cut the hair before installing because it seems shorter than the normal length of Noble; if yes, any tips on cutting? Because I’d like to try this length.
    I need to go learn this knotless technique asap!
    Nigerian and Natural

    Liked by 1 person

    • nafisah says:

      Thanks Jen! Oh yes! I forgot to mention that. I trimmed off about 3 inches of hair but that was after installation. I want a very short look but the hair seems to stretch out with every combing session I have. So I keep trimming to maintain the short look

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bookie says:

    It really blends with your hair.
    I don’t even know what to do on my hair after I take down these havanna twists on Saturday.
    😦

    http://www.thelifeofbey.wordpress.com

    Like

  3. Yewande says:

    Its so pretty. How much did you get the hair?

    Like

  4. nafisah says:

    Thanks dearie but I didn’t leave out my hair. Try something new and different if you are not the boring DIY type like me.

    Like

  5. Love it! Never knew you were a student of unilag. Please I need your email address.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oma says:

    Hahahahaha….Nafisah….finally, you decided to show us pictures. The hair is lovely, i did mine yesterday with same Noble Gold Kinky Bulk and the compliments i’d gotten has been overwhelming. It might just end up being my go-to-protective style.
    omajoe.blogspot.com

    Like

  7. prof says:

    Hi! I tried it today!! Used one a half pack bt it seems or appears too big my hubby is laffing at me. Doz it eventually tame or I got it wrong somewhere

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Vivian says:

    Hello. Lovely hair, I’m a huge fan of crochet braids and I have done a couple for myself and my clients. I want to ask if u can roll the hair and put in hot water(like you would do xpression attachment) for curls? And what is your opinion on having leave out for this hairstyle?

    Liked by 1 person

    • nafisah says:

      Yes you can. You can also leave out your hair, Thats the version of crochet braids I havn’t even tried yet. Some people have left out hair on it and still had good things to say about it.

      Like

      • Anonymous says:

        Hi Nafisah. I just stumbled on your blog and i must say you are doing a good job. I recently watched a yotube video where some part of the hair all round was left out and it came out really nice with so many styling options. I can’t wait to try this crotchet out and i hope it really comes out nice on me.

        Like

  9. Anonymous says:

    I did the crochet braids with noble bulk two packs and geeeez it is so big, I could barely style it

    Liked by 1 person

    • nafisah says:

      I’d suggest you probably trim it and shape it to desired length and volume. It highly recommended plus the amount of hair you use depends on your braiding pattern and your head

      Like

  10. Yaa says:

    Hi! Do you have a picture of how the hair looks like after you wet it? Does it shed a lot each time you comb through it?

    Like

    • nafisah says:

      Hello! Thanks for stopping by.
      These few pictures show the picture of the hair when wet. It doesn’t get heavier when wet and it doesn’t tangle as much as noble gold kinky braid hair. But I would say that noble gold twist braid hair is better for crochet than this hair. This hair is better for twisting and braiding styles

      Like

  11. ese says:

    Hello, good job. I’m inspired. I’m not a natural but I’ve got a 2 year old daughter whom I want to keep natural. No plans at all to introduce relaxers to her hair. Would love to see her hair full,long and healthier. Basically I just use shea butter,and oils in a spray bottle. Any more tips?…

    Liked by 1 person

    • nafisah says:

      I’m sorry I’m just seeing this. you are on the right track with the water and oil in spray bottle. Also don’t comb her hair often because she still has a tender scalp.

      Like

  12. jane says:

    How do you fix it? I intend to do this style but I’m a bit confused. The tip of each strand is straight so do you fold d hair into equal halves then crotchet or u just fold the tip and fix it in?

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Anonymous says:

    Hello Nafisah,
    I love your blog. Quick question. What if I decide not to wet the hair after installation, does it matter. and what is the benefit wetting it?
    I also learnt xpression afro kinky can be used for this style. noble gold and xpression which would u recommended for this style?
    Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Anonymous says:

    sorry for the typo errors.

    Hello Nafisah,
    I love your blog. Quick question. What if I decide not to wet the hair after installation, does it matter? What is the benefit of wetting it?
    I also learnt xpression afro kinky can be used for this style. Noble gold and xpression product, which would u recommend for this style?
    Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    • nafisah says:

      Thank you! My wetting the hair is a personal choice for me. It helps me detangle the hair with much ease. I haven’t tried the expression fro kinky but I love noble gold hair extensions. it’s a matter of personal preferences.

      Like

  15. hellatt says:

    Wow. The hair looks really great. Crochet Braids are a nice protective style for our hair. And it looks so natural. *-*

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Lourie says:

    this is so cool… nice blog….
    Pls I’d like to know if it can b curled…

    Like

What do you think?

