My 8 Week Protective Style Challenge!

Hey guys! Welcome to the month of September. It’s hard to believe that we’ve finally reached the last quarter of 2015.  I’m just a bit super excited that we are approaching the end of the year.

Today I’ll be talking about my protective style challenge with the my remy human hair weave I dyed after dyeing my hair. This challenge was actually inspired by Kinkchic’s 3 months protective styling challenge.

It’s been almost a month since I dyed my hair and I’m really loving the fact that I have colour on my hair but the feeling of dryness on my ends, not so much. I have been basically trying to keep up the moisture level by paying more attention to the ends. To minimize this issue, I have decided to:

  1. Challenge myself with an 8 weeks old protective style (30th of August – 23rd of October)

This would really give my hair a very long well deserved break. I can’t afford to mistreat my hair in its now delicate condition. I would allow my hair to retain a significant length of hair.

2. Get a trim after style takedown.

Plus, I’m due for a trim anyway because my last trim was in May 2015. I have really fine delicate strands that get damaged easily; that’s why I can’t over rule the importance of trimming in my regimen. I trim anywhere from 2 to 3 times a year.

I installed this weave on the 30th of August. I had initially prepped by hair a whole week before by double stretching in single braids then flat twists. I prepped a whole week before because I already had the initial intention of making the hair earlier but couldn’t due to my tight schedule.

The supposed closure was a round closure I watched on YouTube. It’s a really simple technique but I think dozed off while she was near completing the installation. And when I woke up to look at the closure, it just wasn’t defined. All the same.  I liked the overall look. I just hope I’m ready to go all the 8 weeks comfortably without reaching out for a blade!

Excuse the quality of the picture. I would post better pictures soon.

WIN_20150831_23_24_29_Pro

REGIMEN

I plan to co wash my cornrows and weave biweekly to reduce buildups I’m cowashing and not shampooing because both my natural hair and weave have been dyed by me: so I’m trying to prevent dryness and breakage as much as possible.

I also plan to moisture and seal my cornrows twice a week.

Let’s se how this all goes by October!

Let me know what you think!
By the way. We are now on Instagram @coilyheadofhair and we also manage a Facebook page, Coily Head of Hair. Please feel free to like and follow us on these platforms.

About nafisah

I'm an architecture student by day and natural hair blogger by night. Join me as I share with you the ups and downs of being an student natural living in Lagos.
This entry was posted in Hair Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My 8 Week Protective Style Challenge!

  1. Bookie says:

    Goodluck on this hun, I can’t seem to keep a protective style longer than three weeks, my head just revolts.

    Bookie Kunlere

    Liked by 1 person

  2. KinkCHIC says:

    Aww…thanks for the pingback. I’m glad i inspired you. We are in this challenge together. Let’s do this 😀

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

