New Hair Products!!

HI guys.

Today I’ll be sharing with you my latest buys. I must warn you all, product junkism is real o. I used to form, I will never waste my money on too much hair products. X years later, I’m ‘“eeny, meeny, miny, moeing“, ” the leave in to use for today’s wash. My fellow naturals please and please, if you would buy products, buy because you need them at that point in time, don’t buy them because you’re bored, or like the cliché, ‘’I just want to try something new’’. If your old products are still faithful to your hair, then why change.

Trust me, it’s so annoying when it’s wash day and I’m not sure which conditioner to use.

Having many products isn’t necessary a bad thing, but, it is important to keep things as simple as possible. You don’t want to try 4 different brands of leave in just because you don’t want them to ‘’expire’’ or lose potency.

That’s why I don’t like buying products at meetups or something, there are a lot of vendors out there with really sexy, mouth-watering, sophisticated products that are determined to dry out your pockets.

SO what’s my point exactly?

My point is buy only products you need if the current ones are still working for you.

It’s also not too bad if you pick up one or two to experiment with.

And also don’t buy in bulk or buy lot of products at once if you are not running out.

Don’t allow your products pile up. Trust me when I say this. I have about 5 leave ins barely half way and I don’t know what to do with them!

Anyhoo, lemme not bore you all about this kind of life.

So here are the products I products I got over the course of 2/3 months. I didn’t buy them all at once.

DSC03896

  1. Vitale Hair Mayonnaise: My staple deep conditioner, I ran out so I repurchased. You can read my review here. It costst N800 to N1100. Inexpensive right? (picture not included)
  2. Palmer’s Coconut oil Formula Replenishing hair milk: Just because I’m too into leave in conditioners, I saw the pretty little thing sitting on the shelf in a supermarket, I picked it up, read the ingredients list and thought, ‘awesome!’ I got it for N1200
  3. Tropical Naturals Shea Butter with Fragrance: I love everything about this shea butter from tropical naturals, the smell and the texture. It costs N350 or so.
  4. Vo5 Silky experiences Island coconut shampoo: All these mouth-watering names they give products sha… I like this shampoo, it’s not so drying and not so ‘conditiony’ either. It cost me N450 at a random supermarket. By the way, the smell is amazing!
  5. Vo5 Silky experiences Shea Cashmere conditioner: I got this because of its nice ingredients and the smell too. It has this warm buttery smell. Yum! It got it for N330.
  6. ORS edge control: I never really had one of my own, I only used it on a few occasions to slick down my edges and I didn’t take note whether it worked or not. So I got one to verify. It costs between N800 and N1050. I got it for N1050.                                                                                                                                                                          DSC03918 DSC03923
  7. Heinz Apple Vinegar: Any time I see this product, I want to cry. Because bae and I had purchased this at shoprite and returned home before we realized that it is called Apple Vinegar. Where the cider went to, I don’t know. It’s all written in Chinese. It costs N800.
  8. 100 g Henna Powder: I’m so excited I got this. I have always wanted to get it. I got at NITC 12 for N500.                                                                                                                                                                  DSC03907
  9. Nickey Clarke Frizz- free Flat Iron: I have always wanted to get my flat iron and not have wait turns or something. I read nice reviews about it and got it on Jumia for about N2900 or so.                                                                                                                                                                  DSC03925 DSC03936

So I think that’s pretty much it. I hope you have learned one or two things from this post.

By the way, If you follow my page on Facebook, you’ll probably know by now that I straightened my hair. I can’t wait t to put up the post.

Until Next time,

Nafisat..

About nafisah

I'm an architecture student by day and natural hair blogger by night. Join me as I share with you the ups and downs of being an student natural living in Lagos.
This entry was posted in Hauls and Buys and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Hair Products!!

  1. Nice, where did you get the henna from though? Still Olori? Tried ordering there and i was happy until i saw the delivery fee..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: So I Straightened My Hair! | COILY HEAD OF HAIR

  3. Wonuola says:

    “Where the cider went to, I don’t know” this had me in stitches. Lol
    I don’t bother about my edges these days and it’s very sad cos I really like the sleek look… I’m transitioning to natural from texlaxed and 12weeks into my transition, nothing lays my edges…i would usually stretch for 6months and during this periods… Same problem. My edges just do what they like.
    I really hope the Ors edge control works for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • nafisah says:

      Lol…trust me, it’s so annoying when you just don’t read labels well and end up buying fake. As for the ors, I’m already seeing signs of incompatibility..lool Try ecostyler gels. they work absolutely well in laying down edges.

      Like

  4. I fell victim to the Heinz Apple Vinegar at Shoprite last year. The Chinese actually set up warning bells but I was too excited about the price that I ignored. I believe its just regular diluted white vinegar flavored with apples and sweetened with sugar. The good side is its great with salads and for grilling so I didn’t let it go to waste. Ever since, I “jejely” purchase Braggs ACV with “the mother” from Healthplus pharmacy @ 3500. Expensive, but at least there’s no threat to my hair becoming a side dish for ants.

    VO5 is the best thing that ever happened to cheapskate naturals like me. The products do a great job at little cost. I particularly love the silky experiences conditioner cuz it smells divine and has a nice texture but I go for the blackcurrant shampoo more often.

    https://allandthensome.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    • nafisah says:

      And you just had to jejely purchase braggs…lol. I hardly cook, so I really don’t know what i’m going to use this for now. I love vo5 conditioners a lot. their products always smell lovely.

      Like

What do you think?

