So I Straightened My Hair!

WP_20151019_006 (2)Hi Guys. I really don’t know why I’m bombarding you all with gists today. These posts have been in my draft for a couple of days now and I’m tired piling them up.

So If you saw my last length check update, you’d know I just hit armpit length (APL)!! I’m super duper excited!

Any way, I’m back here to bring you some hair gists. Remember the 8 week protective style challenge I announced some time back? Well my hair couldn’t make to week 8 and was only about to see week 5. I have been wearing puffs and mini twists after the weave take down until last week when I decided to straighten my hair suddenly. After washing my hair last week Sunday, I didn’t know what to do with it, I didn’t want to puff again and I certainly didn’t have time to twist either. I was too busy to try any elaborate hairstyle and too impatient to allow my hair stretch. So I brought out my new flat iron and straightened it. The original plan was to straighten it in November by a professional but…(sigh)

I wasn’t even really prepared for the straightening process all I knew was that I wanted a new look and feel to my hair. I didn’t have any heat protectant or hair serum. I had even run out of all my oils. All I had was Shea butter. I didn’t want to use Shea butter to flat iron my hair! No way! So I remembered my sister had been using one stretch mark oil mix like that that contained all these good stuff for hair. The first ingredient was grape seed oil (double plus) because it is a good alternative to heat protectants.

I grabbed that and my new leave in conditioner- palmer’s replenishing hair milk and proceeded to stretch the hair. I stretched my hair in 4 twists and pinned them down across each other to stretch them.  After allowing the hair to air dry, I proceeded to flat iron with the Nicky Clarke’s at 200 deg. Celsius, I added the stretch marks oil to each section again and flat ironed in sections using the comb chase method. That result turned out fairly good but I felt that my last flat ironing results December last year turned out straighter and sleeker than this. I owe this to the fact that I was a little impatient this time around and my hair wasn’t stretch enough beforehand.  It took me about an hour and a half to get my hair straight this time around. Last time it took me a little over 2 hours.

Duration:

Anyhoo, I was able to wear straight hair for a whole week. It could have definitely gone an extra week but my hair was slowing turning into blown out hair than straightened hair plus some rain showered it on Wednesday.  I don’t have pics of day 1 hair but the pic I’m sharing are day 4 and day 7 hair. After flat ironing my hair that Sunday ready to share my length with the world, I started looking for my camera. I found it 3 good days after I had flat ironed.

Hair Styles:

For the styles I wore with my straight hair, I wore just two styles. Two Jumbo braids and ( high and low) buns. I wore jumbo braids on Monday and Tuesday, then wore the buns through Sunday. I absolutely enjoy wearing buns. It was fun while it lasted.

Maintenance:

To maintain my straight hair, I apply tiny bit of the palmer’s hair milk (I like this leave in a lot because it doesn’t cause my hair to revert immediately or significantly like most other leave ins) and sealed with the stretch marks oil mix. Lool It really feels unusual mention stretch marks in this post.

Night routine:

Aw mehn! This is the part of my straightening experience that really sucked. After watching a couple of YouTube videos on how to wrap natural hair. I was convinced that I could do this easy stuff and proceeded to wrapping my hair. 1st attempt fail, 2nd attempt-fail, 3rd attempt-mega fail and it went on like that. Loool after about 30 minutes battling with my hair to wrap, I gave up and put my hair in a low bun.

So my dream of wrapping my straight hair and waking up to flawless, frizz-free hair was crushed and I had to settle for the low bun bedtime routine.

I really enjoyed wearing straight hair while it lasted. I got loads of complements from the buns than braids. The ‘’is this your hair?’’ questions kept popping up again.

I apologize that I don’t have enough pictures to show you. It’s so annoying.

I got some new products I put up a day ago, my hair is really due for a trim. I couldn’t trim before straightening because I didn’t have a pair of new scissors or shears. I ‘m currently rocking bantu knot outs through out the week and I’m so loving them because they came out perfect this time around. I can’t wait to share the results from day 1 to day 5 with you and the bedtime routine. I’ll be giving myself a trim this  weekend.

DSC03980 DSC03942 DSC03945

12182487_10205337837222302_1236257534809467821_o 12184311_10205337891223652_565156593050272433_o 12068753_10205337836702289_4515853579012338212_o (1)

Oh before I zoom off, I was featured on African Naturalistas. So, you all know what to do nau, head over there and show some love to me.

Until next time,

Nafisat.

About nafisah

I'm an architecture student by day and natural hair blogger by night. Join me as I share with you the ups and downs of being an student natural living in Lagos.
This entry was posted in DIY, Hair Goals, Hair Updates, Milestones and Achievements and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to So I Straightened My Hair!

  1. KinkCHIC says:

    Wow…this your hair ehn! That low bun or ‘rose’ is giving me life jorrh 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. levybraide says:

    your hair is super lovely. I think I’ll try this too

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bookie says:

    See your highlights! So nice! Did you re-dye?
    Your hair looks so lush, did you use that hair bun for the high bun?
    You’ve got me thinking about this dye that keeps staring at me in my wardrobe but I don’t have products for that wahala yet jare.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. AtimMercy says:

    Pretty hair… I love it… Plus I still love ur dye job… Really cool

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Fluffy Bantu Knot Out on Stretched Natural Hair. | COILY HEAD OF HAIR

  6. Jen says:

    Your hair is so long now!
    I am jealous

    Nigerian and Natural

    Like

What do you think?

