Fluffy Bantu Knot Out on Stretched Natural Hair.

 

DSC04198Happy Sunday everybody.

I’m just excited that I’m finally done with exams so you all should see me here more often as from now.

Remember I straightened my hair last week, the post contains how the whole process went,  the maintenance, the styles, and other info. Feel free to read it here. After wearing it straight for a whole week  and noticing the slow reversion to a blowout-ish look, I decide to try a bantu knot out with it.

What I Used:

Palmer’s Replenishing Hair Milk

Shea butter

Hair brush

Rat tail comb

The process.

I divided my hair into 4 sections. I applied a small amount of  palmers hair milk and shea butter each section and brushed out with a brush. Then I created 4 twists in each section, smoothing out the ends of each with the rat tail comb and applied more shea butter before twisting the ends. and then finally I knotted. All in all, I twisted and knotted 16 medium-sized twists. I took me less than an hour to finish up.

WIN_20151018_20_52_37_Pro

knotsday1

The take down.

The next morning, I applied a light oil mix ( that same stretch mark oil mix) to my knots to take them down. I applied oil again to unravel the twists. I separated the twists into 2 or 3. Oiling the hair reduces frizz and gives the hair great shine. The most important part of the take down is separating the twists. Separating should be done only where the hair naturally wanted to separate. I didn’t pick or fluff the hair because the humidity here in Lagos is crazy and I knew my hair would become bigger later that day.

My result was soft fluffy and defined curls with movement. From day 1 and to day 3. The best part of the hairstyle is the amazing movement. I got a lot of stares and complements from left right and centre. The ‘how the she do it?” stares, The ”is this your hair?” questions, ‘Wows!” and ”It’s so nice!!!” but this Lagos humidity is really ruining it for me!!

unravelprocess

DSC04082

Night routine.

I lose a lot of curl definition when I come back from school so I basically just apply shea butter to the ends only for definition and re-twist and knot. it takes me less than an hour to do this because I made medium-sized twist. I re-twisted on day 2 and 3 and wore puffs on day 4 and 5. For the day 3 hair,  I sprayed water,sealed the ends with shea butter and reknotted smaller twists for better definition.

Here’s a collage of day 1, day 2 and day 3 hair respectively.

day123bantuknots day123bantu

And more random pictures…

morepics

Until Next Time,

Nafisat

About nafisah

I'm an architecture student by day and natural hair blogger by night. Join me as I share with you the ups and downs of being an student natural living in Lagos.
This entry was posted in Protective styling, Regimen and Routines and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Fluffy Bantu Knot Out on Stretched Natural Hair.

  1. KinkCHIC says:

    Wow…your hair is amazing. the brown highlights fit you better than the plum. your hair is gorgeous

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good idea you didn’t fluff. Lagos and humidity! I’ll try to remember that. Love the result..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lolar aina says:

    amazing!!!your hair is so beatiful and long just love every part of your post keep it up dear.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jen says:

    Love the results! Too pretty

    Nigerian and Natural

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hadassah says:

    Beautiful results!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. thecurlybelle says:

    awww..looks so gorgeous and defined. awwww.so pretty.

    Like

  7. Mimi says:

    😀 I needddddddddddddd 😍

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

