Revisiting: The Inversion Method Challenge!

INVERSION-METHOD-inch-2My people, how are you all and how’s the weekend going?

I’m finally on my well deserved break so mega yay!!

I feel so good to not be doing architecture right now, honestly, the 6am alarms, the projects, the crazy deadlines.

Anyhoo, today’s post is about the inversion method! Yeah, so let’s get to it.

What is the Inversion Method and How does it work?

I’m just going to do some copy and paste here and there, to give you guys an idea of the whole thing.

According to The Natural Haven, a blog that talks about natural hair from a science-based perspective,

”the method involves:

1. A scalp massage nightly with oil
2. Turning your head upside down afterwards for upto 4 minutes

The result is supposed to gain you anywhere between a quarter to an inch of hair length.

The Science

1. Inversion method says: Scalp massage can stimulate regrowth of hair

Research says : This has not been seen in human studies but in rats, massage is thought to help hair regrow – not at a faster rate but just simply regrow


2. Inversion method says: Turning the head upside down should increase blood flow to the head which the author theorises will be helpful to hair growth

Research says: Turning your head upside will change the blood flow and pressure, partly the reason why the inversion method can be dangerous for those with blood pressure problems, pregnant or with glaucoma. In mice again, it has been shown that if you block development of blood vessels, hair growth will decrease so there is some relation to blood vessels and hair growth”

I have tried this sometime during TWA days in 2014, I could have sworn I gained half an inch but I can’t really tell because, I didn’t measure my hair immediately before the process. All I know was that, I was suppossed to be expecting 3.5 inches considering my growth rate, but I got 4 inches instead. So I couldn’t document it because of my uncertain results.

Now, I’m revisiting it with the aim of confidently showing you if it works or nah.

What I need:

A light oil about 1 oz: I’ll be using that stretch marks oil I used to straighten my hair lol. Please don’t crucify me yet, It contains grapeseed oil as its first ingredient and a couple of other good stuff.

A cell phone with a timer: To time the duration to 4 minutes. This is ridiculous to me, like actually counting the 4 minutes, but hey, that’s what the instruction says…

What I’ll do:

  1. Sit on a chair and bend my head over
  2. Apply the oil for at least 30 seconds
  3. Massage my scalp for 4 minutes
  4. Slowly return my head to its original position.
  5. EVERY NIGHT for 7 DAYS…lol

Not so difficult I guess….right?  Let’s do this!

Some side notes:

I’ll be doing this with my hair in twists

I’ll be heating up the oil before application

I’ll be doing this at night; just be consistent enough.

I’ll be washing my hair after the whole process

I have measured my hair on day 1 and here’s a picture to explain better. And how will I be able to measure the exact hairs I measure before, I have put the hairs measured in the picture in loose braids to differentiate them from the rest. So to measure the new growth after 7 days, I’ll simply loosen the braided hairs only.

Oh, by the way, I trimmed my hair last week, that’s why I have lost some length. My ends were such an eye sore.

inv811

 Precautions:

If you have any of the following conditons, you should avoid inversion COMPLETELY: pregnancy, hernia, low or high blood pressure*, recent stroke, heart or circulatory problems, glaucoma, conjunctivitis (“pink eye”), detached retina, spinal injury, swollen joints, osteoporosis, unhealed fractures or injuries, ear infection, obesity, or are otherwise unhealthy.

So that’ it. I’ll be putting up the results next week for you all to see. Does the inversion method really work? We’ll find out soon. Who’s ready to turn down their heads for an extra inch?

Check out the result here!

Until Next Time,

Nafisat.

About nafisah

I'm an architecture student by day and natural hair blogger by night. Join me as I share with you the ups and downs of being an student natural living in Lagos.
This entry was posted in Hair Challenges, Hair Goals and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Revisiting: The Inversion Method Challenge!

  1. naturalrify says:

    Hmmmm. Definitely something worth trying but washing your hair every night? You sure deserve some break from work to keep up with that. Lol. Let me know if it works,maybe then i can take the stress. . Just maybe,lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. levybraide says:

    I dont think i can even do this. I’ve been having migraines due to some pressure in my head. Doing this will just make it worse. I wish you all the best, hopefully it works.

    Like

  3. Jen says:

    Tried it once and forgot by day 3. Looking forward to your results

    Nigerian and Natural

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looking forward to your results oh. If it works, I’ll go too.. Lol

    Liked by 1 person

  5. krystalkinks says:

    Nice ! I have just one more week break before school resumes. If I don’t try it now God knows when I’ll be able to, I think I’ll try it this week and see how it goes.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. bebeokoli says:

    I tried it once for one week and I noticed some growth

    Liked by 1 person

  7. KinkCHIC says:

    Ouch! I have glaucoma and migraines won’t let me be. 😦 Looking forward to your results

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Igbocurls says:

    Ever since I heard of the inversion method, I knew it wasn’t for me. I’ll be looking forward to seeing your results though.

    Like

  9. Sandra says:

    I tried it one time when i was relaxed and I got a little extra length at the back half which grows faster than the front anyway. The front half not so much and it’s where I wanted the length so my next attempt didn’t survive past day 3.
    I’m looking forward to your results.

    I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award Nafisah 🙂
    NGND: Versatile Blogger Award- 7 Random facts

    Like

  10. Pingback: Inversion Method: The Results. | COILY HEAD OF HAIR

  11. Bookie says:

    I tried the inversion method when I first went natural. Sigh. I felt so dizzy, I couldn’t continue.
    Can’t wait to see your results.
    P.S your hair looks so good

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

