Product Review: ORS EDGE CONTROL Hair Gel.

WP_20160228_023.jpg

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION: For Superior hold and shine.

 

PRICE: This 2.25 oz jar cost me N1050 in aa supermarket near my house.

 

INGREDIENTS:

WATER

CETEARETH-25: Universal emulsifier, Surfactant, Cleansing Agent;

PEG-7 GLYCERYL COCOATE: It is an emulsifying, emollient, refatting & thickening agent. It is also useful as surfactant & foam booster, good conditioning effect for hair.

PRPYLENE GLYCOL: It is an effective humectant, emulsifier and preservative.

PEG-7 HYDROGENATED CASTOR OIL: It is a Fragrance Ingredient; hair-conditioning agent and emulsifying agent.

VP/VA COPOLYMER: Binder; Film Former; Hair Fixative. It allows hair to hold a style longer by preventing moisture from entering the hair shaft

WP_20160228_026.jpg

 

FIRST IMPRESSION: It comes in a 2.25oz plastic open-lid jar

It’s transparent in color and has an extremely thick consistency.

I absolutely love the smell of this product though it smells synthetic.

 

 

WP_20160228_032.jpgWP_20160228_027.jpg

 

MY EXPERIENCE:  I use this of course smoothen and lay my edge for a sleeker look. Mostly for my buns and puffs. It is best used on clean, moisturized hair and applied with a hard brush and a scarf to tie it down for a couple of minutes. I do this whenever I want to lay my edges and it stays on my hair and maintains smoothness and shine for 7/8 hrs but seems to lose that polished sleekness and hold after 5 hrs or so. And that’s when I check my mirror and see oily edges.

20160223_085917

9am day A

20160223_085906

9am day A

20160223_124535

3pm day A

 

 

 

 

20160226_113232

9AM DAY B

20160226_113312

9AM DAY B

 

20160221_163940

2PM DAY B

 

 

PROS:

It instantly lays the edges and provides great shine

It is very moisturizing for an edge gel

 

 

CONS:

It contains humectants that can interfere with hold: propylene glycol and glycerin.

Short-lived hold and sleek look.

It can be a bit too oily

 

WOULD I BUY IT AGAIN?

I’m yet to try out other edge gels, but for now I’ll keep using this till I find a better one. So Yes, I’ll buy it again, it does a fairly decent job with smoothing your edges and providing great shine.

 

SUMMARY

This products at first gives this unbelievable instant hold, sleekness and shine but after some hours, the hold and sleekness is gone and you are left with slightly moisturized, oily edges with slight hold which to me isn’t a bad thing at all.  I won’t say I love it and I won’t say I dislike it either. I’m on the fence here.

 

If you are for an edge gel that moisturizes and provides great shine and wouldn’t mind the short-lived sleek look, then you can give this gel a try.

 

 

About nafisah

I'm an architecture student by day and natural hair blogger by night. Join me as I share with you the ups and downs of being an student natural living in Lagos.
This entry was posted in product review and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Product Review: ORS EDGE CONTROL Hair Gel.

  1. kerdishastlouis says:

    I love this gel also great post

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Zainab says:

    I used this a couple of times..it has never layed my edges this good.
    You lucky it can even lay your edges for 5 hours sef.
    P.s I tagged you on something on my blog. Sisterhood of natural hair bloggers did you get it?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bookie says:

    Look at those edges!
    Does it flake though?
    The issue I have with gel is that it flakes (the one I’m using) at the end of the day.

    Bookie Kunlere

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your edges are well layered.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

