Non- Hair Matters: My Fitness Journey

fitness-motivation-workout-shirts
Hello beautiful people,

Happy Saturday and Happy New Month!!

Today’s post would totally be off- topic..lol..No hair discussions today. I’ll be talking about me!! Battling with weight gain and all that

I felt like have I have always had the perfect physique right from when I turned 16. I had a 26” waist for my 38” hips with a height of  5′ 7” and weight of 58 kg. Yes I was really conscious of the smallest details. And then I found  myself in the 1st year of university, and old friends would come up to me several months after we graduated and would suddenly go, ”Nafisat, what happened? You look so fat now!” or “‘Wow, you really gained weight o” and someone of them try to make you feel  good by saying, ”Er, you’re not actually fat, but you are now chubby” Of course, because I felt like they were all exaggerating too much, I didn’t pay  so much attention to them.

Fast forward to 2015 in my second year of school , the comments started getting too out of hand. I just couldn’t comprehend it. There were fatter/ bigger girls than I am all around me and nobody tells them they are too big or too fat. It was only me. I just couldn’t comprehend it. I started to get so mad irritated and angry at the fact that nobody was ”being mean” to them as they were to me.  So I turned that anger into my motivation to shed a few kilograms  before my third year. I started researching on healthy eating habits and I realized it was a bit challenging to eat healthy here in Nigeria especially when 80% of what we eat are heavy carbs and 90% of the food you eat is

  1. Either bought from eateries
      2. Cooked by your very African mother who believes plenty palm oil or vegetable oil is the secret to a delicious and  tasty meal
     3. Is completely  pastries and other junk food.

I had to give up without a second thought and scrap the idea of eating healthy and being fit.

Towards the end o f 2015 in December, I actually took it seriously this time around at least for like a month. I gathered some fitness inspiration here and there, watched a couple of weight loss and fitness journey videos on YouTube, I learned a lot about how fat is gained and lost, I really learnt  a lot but when it was time for me to put my very positive mind set and goal into motion, I slacked again…

Well not until 5 days ago… It was like a wake up call for me. I was trying to put on an outfit and I found it impossible to pick one, I kept on playing dress up for over 40 minutes. I was annoyed, angry and sad because I felt like no matter what I put on, It just didn’t look good on me. My tummy was bulging out a bit too much for comfort, my upper arms were getting noticeably bigger everyday. It was sickening!! My waist size had gone up to 29.5” and my weight had gone up to 66kg.  about 4 inches and 8kg in 2 years? I felt like if I kept on with this habit of mine, I may end up really fattened up in 6 years. Horrible picture!

 

What do I do?

I’m going to burn those unwanted fat and try to keep fit. that what I’ll do.

It seemed easy to say but yet so difficult to do but how do I intend to burn the unwanted fats?

By eating healthier and dumping junk food ofcourse and making running and skipping my best friends!

Again it seemed so easy to say and difficult to do but how do I intend to eat healthier and dump the junks? Making running and skipping my best friends?

This actually the difficult part of it. How to get myself into doing something that seems impossible. But really. I’ll just DO IT. The only way to get yourself to do something is to JUST DO IT.

My main goal to be fit and eat healthier. My focus areas are my arms and tummy where a considerable amount of fat is stored.

I intend to skip my ass of everyday and run 3 times per week.

Reduce my intake of ice-cream, pastries and desserts, sugary drinks, milk chocolate, milo, bread, popcorn ( my babies!!!)  vegetable oil and palm oil and incorporate healthier options like

Brown rice,
Beans,
Moi Moi,
Boiled Plantain
Oats,
Olive Oil
Golden morn ( it’s actually healthier than you think)
Potatoes,
Eggs,
Skimmed Milks
Dark Chocolate
Wheat bread,
Water ofcourse,
Fruits
Yoghurt smoothies .

I really want to try smoothies, I’ll be getting a smoothie maker next month, I can’t wait to share recipes with you.

I’m desperately in search of low fat yogurt or Greek yogurt in Lagos. If anyone knows where I can get it please kindly drop it in the comments.

I’ll also keep you all updated on the journey take arm, waist and thigh size measurement every 2 weeks. Wish me luck. I can’t wait to start this!

Until next Time,
Nafisat.
About nafisah

I'm an architecture student by day and natural hair blogger by night. Join me as I share with you the ups and downs of being an student natural living in Lagos.
This entry was posted in Non-Hair Matters and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Non- Hair Matters: My Fitness Journey

  1. Nelly says:

    I do fitness and yes, I’m not fat,lol. I just like keeping fit. You should add green tea to your fitness plan, its great for weightloss, its become my favourite tea 🙂 these few months

    Liked by 1 person

  2. KinkCHIC says:

    You are lucky… I’m 17 and I weigh abt 76kg. But I’m a but taller and so my BMI says a bit overweight. I’m a figure 8 but I really want to reduce my bust and hip size and eliminate some fat in my tummy too. You go girl… I’m right behind ya 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jel says:

    Well written. I think its always very important to remember to love yourself throughout this journey. Always remember that your weight does not define you, you are so much more than that. The goal is to be fit and to maintain consistency. I am no expert but patience definitely goes a long way, don’t put too much pressure on yourself but remain consistent. I wish you good luck and I can’t wait to see your results ☺☺☺

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Enobong says:

    It’s never easy especially when you’re alone and nobody understands you. Replace your junk snacks with Reelfruits, it’s a healthy dried fruit snack. Good luck

    Liked by 1 person

  5. oluchee says:

    you just reminded me of a fitness phase I went through. wasnt a weight thing… I weighed 54 (my BMI showed I needed to be 56 to be “appropriate”). I just started eating healthy and all so I tried to get all in with exercises.

    Ok here’s my 2cents. During those period (almost 3months).. I was fully dedicated.. I cut out the junks. I did less starchy meals..more protein meals. Whenever I crave junk I “fruit”. If you have to starch, do ‘yam’ not ‘rice’. Yam even helps the tummy. Preferably potato.. It works. All those little tips, helps! You won’t even need to ‘exercise’ to shed the fat. I kept telling people then that if you wanted to lose weight and you haven’t its because you’re lazy. I don’t really mean that tho. I lost so much weight without really trying (I was trying to gain 2kg remember) and I was steady with the exercises my abs were at the early stages. Lool

    Sorry for the rant. Just trying to say it’s all about dedication discipline and getting motivated that’s all.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

