Few Things I Learnt From Hosting ‘Coils on Campus’ Natural Hair Meetup in UNILAG!

Yayyy!!! Saturday is here!!

A beautiful Saturday afternoon to you ladies!

I’ll be discussing a couple of things I learnt from hosting my first natural hair meetup , Coils on Campus, in the University of Lagos Campus. I was able to pull this off in conjunction with my friends and fellow natural hair enthusiasts, Onyinye Olunfunmi and Alleuia Oredugba!! Love you guys!

 

Before I begin to unfold them, I want to give glory, honor and appreciation to God Almighty. I couldn’t have gotten this far without God’s grace and presence in my life.

I would also want to say a big thank you to an amazing sponsor, the CEO of Afro By Nature Hair Vitality, a Made in Nigeria Natural hair care product brand for her unbelievable commitment and support before and all through the event. I couldn’t have accomplished as much as I did without her. She has been a great helper and adviser to me. Thank you for putting so much trust in me and into something so new and for believing in me. Thank you for putting your 101% percent into making Coils on Campus a truly memorable experience.

A big thank you to my sister, Olayemi Rukayat, Adeoba Abiodun (CEO of HUSH Magazine ) My friends, Onyinye Olunfunmi (Founder, Africansim Today), Tolu Adeniyi, another amazing friend like a sister, Ibrahim Musa-Bello, Alleluia Oredugba, Chigbolu Uju , Sabina, Simisola Sogbesan, Wunmi Bamiro, Sandra Ike, Lolade, Gbemi, my fellow Architecture course mates and others I haven;t mentioned for putting in so much effort into bringing Coils on Campus alive. The early hours of the show when I couldn’t get myself together and I wanted to do was tear up. I really can’t thank you guys enough.

And all the guests that tuned up. Thank you all!!

IMG_0703

Left To Right: Yours Truly, Alleuia Oredugba, Onyinye Olufunmi and an attendee!

Coils on Campus was created in spirit of my Coils on Campus Feature on my blog. I had to channel this feature into something more physical and memorable. It was also a way for me to give back something for the ”Natural Hair Students” community. I believe this category of naturals are the least enlightened about Nigerian natural hair care opportunities like:

1))Natural Hair Meetups by Natural Nigerian, Naija Hair Can Grow, Kinky Apothecary,  Natural Hair Rocks, etc.

2) Natural Hair care Solutions by Afro By Nature, Hairapy by Ohana, Ajike Ologe, Mida’s Natural Beauty, Zapi Botanics, Aralewa, KUI Care, Arami Essentials, Zebelle Curls Naturals, African Naturalistas, We naturals, amongst Others.

3) Natural Hair Stylists like: Yellow Sisi, Natural U Beauty, O’ Naturals Beauty, Game of Fros, amongst others.

Hence, There is great need for me as natural hair enthusiast who can relate to ”this community”  to help them through their own hair care journey because a lot of young ladies in Unilag do not know the basics a natural hair care, they don’t really know what to put in their hair, how to protect and retain length. A lot of them are into this just because natural hair is in vogue and It is very important to plant the right mindset into them.

Here are a few things I learnt from hosting my first hair meetup in UNILAG.

  1. Planning requires Time and Commitment:

Planning is not as easy as you think: Planning this very first meetup wasn’t as easy as I thought. Getting in touch with multiple possible sponsors, speakers, etc is not an easy task for me as a student. I had to juggle between making enquiries, following up, and attending classes and my final year project. A lot of effort was put into making these brands believe in the meetup.

2. Anything can go wrong:

The truth is, the end result wasn’t what I had planned for. I had a whole lot in my head for the program, however I wasn’t able to actualize all these intentions due some circumstances. At that point the program was delayed. I was in the middle of trying to keep calm and not loose composure. It is really important to plan way ahead for time and stick to the actualizing those plans on time.

3. People will disappoint:

This is quite obvious. I wouldn’t say I didn’t see it coming. Some possible partners may disappoint by kindly declining your proposals or putting you on hold for too long. Likewise during the program, some guests who has pre-registered for the meetup may fail to show up. But this is pretty normal.

4. Unilag students are bound to free stuff ALL THE TIME:

This is a sad brutal truth I hate to share with you but to be honest, you cannot put a good show in unilag without adding item No. 7 to the list. I really don’t know why goody bags, refreshments, small chops and the likes are of more value to educated undergraduates than great hair care information. Putting in so much effort as getting a goody bag for every attendee, complimentary notepads, snacks and drinks was an essential part of the program.

5.You cannot please everyone:

I am always in support of customer’s feedback. Few minutes shortly after the show, I sought feedback from some of the guests and as expected, I had mixed feedback. Apparently  a lot of the students believed a super rich goody bag was the ultimate compensation for their registration fee of N750- N1000!!! This is a very wrong mind set towards educative events like this. However, I got positive feedback from other attendees as well who are honestly looking forward to another one next year. Quite surprisingly for me, a hair care vendor at the meetup, Seun, C.E.O. of Ajike Ologe, is really looking forward to bringing Coils on Campus to Ibadan!

 

At the end of the day, these things are very normal and are bound to happen. Planning and hosting this event wasn’t an easy task but I thank God for helping me put up a great program a lot of people are looking forward to next year!!!! yay!!!

I cannot over emphasize how thankful I am to the above mentioned people for making my plans and goals a reality. To my amazing sponsors, Afro by Nature, Mida’s Naturals, Hairapy by Ohana, Nappy Haired Wigs, Zapi Botanics, Aralewa, Hush Magazine, Ajike Ologe, Kui Care and Arami Essentials . I cannot thank you all enough. My sincere gratitude goes out to them all!

 

If you were at Coils on Campus 2017, kindly drop your feedback and suggestions below. Lots of Pictures coming SOOOON!!!

I look forward to seeing more faces at the next one. Thank you!

Until Next time,

Nafisat.

IMG_0585IMG_0630IMG_0640IMG_0740

 

 

 

 

About nafisah

I'm an architecture student by day and natural hair blogger by night. Join me as I share with you the ups and downs of being an student natural living in Lagos.
This entry was posted in Coils on Campus, Events, natural hair, Nigerian Naturals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

